AquaOne ReefSys 326 Filter Roller Installation

NickB73

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow Reefers,

I’m looking for some help with my ReefSys326; I’m new to the marine world and despite buying a new tank, I started off with all secondhand or ‘cheap’ equipment. Now I’m already hooked and have started the process of upgrading all the equipment to nice shiny new stuff, which I’ve almost completed!

But, the one area I am having a problem with the filter roller, the way the main drain pipe is done in the ReefSys, its basically impossible to cut the pipe and plumb in the filter roller, it seems to use non-standard size pipe, but the main part coming off the gate valve is glued together with joins essentially flush, so no pipe to cut (I hope this makes sense).

I have reached out to AquaOne, who say they don’t sell the gate valve and pipe kit as separate pieces, but suggested I should just be able to buy a gate valve from any DIY store. Here in the UK, its not something I’ve ever seen knocking around in a DIY store.

Has anyone managed to replaced the OEM valve with a different one? Would love to know what to buy (I don’t even know the sizes of the thread etc).

Hoping someone out there, has the all the answers to my dilemma :)

OP
OP
N

NickB73

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Got photos? What brand of filter roller are you using?
I’m using RedSea ReefMat500.

Here’s a photo of the main gate valve, with the bit crossed that I really could do without.

Attachments

• IMG_3109.jpeg
    IMG_3109.jpeg
    166.9 KB · Views: 30

Lbrdsoxfan

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Seeing your in the UK, it's definitely metric... If it was me I'd cut above the existing union and source another union and your own diy gate valve. Then you can pipe it to your parts content. Everything is more than likely 25mm (3/4") or 32mm (1").