Aquarium Backup Power - Fuse Placement Help

isaacalves

www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Here's my Reef Backup Power Layout. I have the power requirements noted.

Question: Where should I put fuses?

Notes:
  • I am using heavy utility 12awg 3 pole wire to and from switch relay
  • I am using 2awg copper stranded between inverter and battery
  • I am using 6awg copper stranded between charger and battery
And guidance on what size of fuse would be very helpful. :)



Reef Backup Power System Display - no fuses shown.jpg
 
Maxout
OP
isaacalves

isaacalves

www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
follow up...

Another aspect that I'm trying to make happen is for my APEX controller to sense the switch to Battery power and shut off lights, heaters and two of the larger wave makers. The return pump, two small wave makers and skimmer will continue running. So the power draw should be even less than the 262 watts noted as the base power draw, but I figured I'd plan around the max usage if there was an emergency situation that required it.
 
OP
isaacalves

isaacalves

www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Follow up:

Being southern California, I don't have heating issues. The real issues we have are blackouts/brownouts because of fire prevention tactics by city or power demand due to hot weather and drought conditions. So the system is being built for specifically catching these sudden blackouts.
 

boatguy

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 20, 2020
Messages
47
Reaction score
86
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
St Augustine
your fuse needs to be as close as possible to the source of power. I'd say within 6" of the positive battery terminal. You are also going to need a disconnect switch for that inverter on the DC positive side. Read the instructions for the inverter about a bonding wire. Exercise caution with inverter power with sensitive equipment. Not all inverters produce good AC power. all that being said... a lot of our reef pumps are now DC powered and could be run right off a battery or bank of batteries.
 
Last edited:
Click to watch best scape method in 5 easy steps!
OP
isaacalves

isaacalves

www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
your fuse needs to be as close as possible to the source of power. I'd say within 6" of the positive battery terminal. You are also going to need a disconnect switch for that inverter on the DC positive side. Exercise caution with inverter power with sensitive equipment. Not all inverters produce good AC power.
The inverter I have is a

GoWISE Power 2000W Pure Sine Wave Power Inverter 12V DC to 120V AC.

model: PS1003
 
OP
isaacalves

isaacalves

www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1,415
Reaction score
736
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Hopefully I'm doing my calculations correctly, I can get my reef system to its bare essentials to pull ~115 watts. The GoWise pure sine wave PS1003 has a marketed efficiency of 90%.

Please anyone let me know if this equation is wrong: 115w / 12V / .9 = 10.6amps

Using this Battery Life calculator I would get ~9 Hrs 26 Min runtime?
 
Maxout

Do you house a "Reef Safe" Angelfish in your reef tank?

  • YES and it's going good

    Votes: 132 41.6%
  • YES but it's not working out

    Votes: 9 2.8%
  • NO I have tried it in the past and it didn't work out

    Votes: 30 9.5%
  • NO I haven't tried yet

    Votes: 137 43.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 9 2.8%
Your Reef
Top