Are DIY LEDs still a thing?

firechild

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been out of the hobby for about 8 years (though I worked in the industry for some of that time) and before I left, DIY LEDs were all the rage. I built the unit for my last tank using Cree XP-G/XP-E emitters. I've started building a unit for my new tank but there doesn't seem to be any real discussion about LED builds since about 2015. Controllers like the Storm X and Typhon from around that time seem to be the latest. Am I missing something or have people just generally moved in another direction?

brandon clow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
DIY led user here, my build is only 2 years old and using a reef pi for a controller. While some of the latest offerings look great I knew I could easily DIY the equivalent in spectrum/par for under $1000 on my 220 gallon. I love the blend and I know exactly how to maintain/upgrade them no matter my desire.

AbjectMaelstroM

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
DIY led user here, my build is only 2 years old and using a reef pi for a controller. While some of the latest offerings look great I knew I could easily DIY the equivalent in spectrum/par for under $1000 on my 220 gallon. I love the blend and I know exactly how to maintain/upgrade them no matter my desire.

Got pix?

brandon clow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do! Snapped these here this morning and it's a bit of a mess as I removed it for some back of the tank inspection. I have more details (LED's, psu, drivers, lens) if desired. Three of these arrays over my 220.

Attachments

• 20201215_084907.jpg
    20201215_084907.jpg
    112.7 KB · Views: 1,279

brandon clow

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How many channels? That's a Lotta wires. How are the lenses held, friction?