Are T5 LEDS same as T5 Fluorescents?

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi.
I know that T5 fluorescent grow corals. But recently after some snooping around at the lights shop, Ive found out that the boxes claim T5 LEDs.
Are these the same? Because the box seem to have claimed they have 6500K on them, which is one indication that they are full spectrum(?)
Mind you, I am a beginner and lights are a bit like a void that I still need to study.
Ive found a blue T5 LED and a Daylight T5 LED which I plan to put them next to each other for a light fixture.
Am I wrong here somewhere?

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have never heard someone using t5 leds for a reef tank. I am pretty sure that what you are talking about is a bunch of led diodes placed inside a tube that can fit t5 fixtures.

Are these reef lights you are looking at, or just generic blue leds/bulbs and such

OP
OP
Uzair Aiman

Uzair Aiman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have never heard someone using t5 leds for a reef tank. I am pretty sure that what you are talking about is a bunch of led diodes placed inside a tube that can fit t5 fixtures.

Are these reef lights you are looking at, or just generic blue leds/bulbs and such
JUst generic lights, are they the same?

dedragon

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
most led/t5 bars if not all never really worked out to replace t5s and most got discontinued as a result

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
most led/t5 bars if not all never really worked out to replace t5s and most got discontinued as a result
yea, they tried.. ;)

Biggest problem was 12w =39W
Not on the best of days..

Anyways if they ever got the power density up and the heat didn't kill the electronics inside it could work.
AND were reasonably priced.
You can put any diode colors you want in them.