Beau's Oceanic 75 Half Moon Reef

beau13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! I've been reefing for about 8 years now with various successes. I finally was able to upgrade in the last six months to a 75 gallon Oceanic half-moon tank and have been updated things as I go! I've been following a lot of the tanks and threads on here for a long time and am looking forward to seeing how my reef develops!

I started this new reef in September of 2018.

Equipment
Display: Oceanic 75 Half Moon display tank with original stand and modified hood
Circulation: Vortech MP40 and Vortech MP10
Return pump: VARIOS-6 DC pump(1720 GPH)
Sump: Eshopps R-100

Skimmer: Reef Octopus Classic 110INT 4” internal
Heater:
ATO: Tunze ATO

Lighting
Lighting for this reef is two Ecotech Radion XR15W G4 Pros. Currently I'm running the at 50% and thinking about working my way up a little bit more but playing with things a bit. Total photo period is 13 hours with 7 hours at 50%. Low light in the morning (just so I can see them a bit before I go to work, and then a ramp down with color adjusted for viewing in the evening. I'm using the Coral Lab PHX14 program with the morning and evening modified. These are way more powerful than the XR30 Gen 1 I had!

Calcium, Alkalinity and Magnesium
Currently manually dosing all three of these and getting things stable. Looking at moving to kalkwasser eventually but still tuning things.

Parameters

Temp: 79
pH: 8.2
Specific gravity: 1.025
NO3: 0
Ca: 440
Alk: 8.5 DKH
Mg: 1350
PO4: 0.26 on the Hannah checker and dropping.

Water quality

Right now I'm using BRS Rox 0.8 and BRS GFO high capacity. I've used RowaPhos in past tanks but the BRS GFO seems to be working better.

Livestock

Assorted hermits and snails from Reef Cleaners
1 Cleaner shrimp
1 Midas blenny
2 Ocellaris clowns that spawn a couple times a year
5 Green chromes
1 Flame angel
1 Purple dottyback
1 Sixline wrasse
1 Yellow clown goby
2 Firefish

Corals

Pink Stylophora
Green stylophora