Bioata Mandarin

Jaybeastin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I have a relatively new system that is 2 months old.

A bioata mandarin is in my future fish list and I’m wondering if I need live copepods? Or can I just feed it frozen food and pellets since it’s captive bred?

Reefing102

Metal Halides Til The End
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like they eat prepared foods based on their website (I have no personal experience)
Our Biota captive bred Mandarins are sustainably and ethically raised on prepared commercial diets that are easily accessible and inexpensive to aquarium hobbyists. Biota Mandarins arrive to you already familiar with foods like Hikari frozen baby brine shrimp, Piscine Energetics frozen Calanus, Easy Reefs Masstick, and tiny pellets such as TDO B2 pellet, and PE Hatchery pellet 400 μm.

thewedge

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think consensus is pods are all they will eat. I have one, and he unit eats pods. I mentioned the possibility of frozen to my LFS and the guy laughed at me.
I stocked up my tank with pods from algaebarn on a monthly basis for 5 months before I bought him and I feed phyto 4 days a week. The tank is teeming and he eats all day long. Just take your time. Be patient, do it right. It'll be much more enjoyable watching him get fat and happy then watching him starve.

Fishy212

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0