Blenny Breeding/ in Home Aquaculture Setup

MidasBlennyGuy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my first time posting on this forum so first off HELLO!

I have been fascinated with photographing and documenting fish doing courtship behaviors and colorations. My latest endeavour is the Midas Blenny since there is very little online about their mating besides the fact they follow the trend of male protecting the eggs laid in their cave/hole in the reef. I did find a video online of a diver who videotaped courtship in the wild and it got me hooked to see if i could get a better picture in an aquarium setting. I set up a 90 gallon bare bottom tank with live rocks and PVC to give the blennies places to hide and nest in. I have now observed the male showing courtship colors and discovered eggs in one of the PVC pipes and the male is guarding it constantly. Does anyone have any advice on how to potentially collect the eggs and try to raise the larvae? Is there a suggested feed like phyto? any advice would be appreciated.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Midas Blennies (Escenius midas) are likely going to be a tough one to figure out how to raise, but I think we can figure out a few things to at least get the community started here.
I have now observed the male showing courtship colors and discovered eggs in one of the PVC pipes and the male is guarding it constantly. Does anyone have any advice on how to potentially collect the eggs
If the eggs are laid on the PVC pipe, then the easiest way to collect them would be by waiting until shortly before they should hatch on the night they're going to hatch (may vary a bit with temperature, but it should be after lights out ~5 days after laying from what I can find), then swapping out the PVC in the broodstock tank for another piece that looks the same while moving the eggs to a larval rearing tank.