Brown Sticks

shornik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Help. Whenever I purchase an Acro they brown out - I have a 60 gallon with EcoTech Radion 30W Pro. They were definitely too low for a while but I've bumped them up to 80% intensity with UV, Royal Blue and Blue at 100% most of the Day and the Cool White maxing at 75% for a few hours during they day. I've been bumping up intensity and the whites by about 5% over the last several weeks. I guess my question is does anyone have a similar setup, 60 Gallon, Radion 30W with SPS? If so what are your settings. Oh mine sits about 12.5" from the top of the water level with the Acros varying about 6-8 " below the water line. I have Monti's at the same level, some lower and they are doing fine (and growing).

My params are all good so I'm guessing its the lights. Any thoughts, suggestions would be much appreciated.

GHill762

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no acro expert (I've browned up my share), but one radion doesn't seem like a lot of light for that tank.. are the acros directly under the radion or off to one of the sides?

OP
OP
shornik

shornik

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm no acro expert (I've browned up my share), but one radion doesn't seem like a lot of light for that tank.. are the acros directly under the radion or off to one of the sides?

They are both directly under and off to the side. Interestingly I forgot to mention this in my earlier post I have a "deep water" Acro off to the side and lower in the tank which is doing great, nice color and growing! If I keep raising intensity and whites, is there a chance the brown sticks will get there color back?

pirate2876

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When I have brown outs it's usually due to nutrients, or fluctuations in water quality. Test water and post results.

my .02

Rob.D

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0