Building frag tank

AllStupidQuestions

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hoping the is in the right category.

I'm not new the the fish world but I am new to building saltwater tanks from scratch.

I'm looking to building a 10 gallon frag tank to start growing some corals for my new 250 gallon tank. So they are bigger then small frags before going into the tank.

Right now I have the tank, filter, heater and wave maker. I was told by a fish store that I will also need a skimmer and a ATO.

This tank will be brand new so I need some help on getting it to cycle and everything. I don't want to take anything from my current tank as its infestedwith dinos and a bunch of crap.

The store I was taking to mentioned FritzTurbo Start 900 and marine pure gems for quick start and a base layer on the tank as there will be no sand.

Any help would be great!!

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will you be running any live rock in the system?

I ran my frag system with a long cycled fluval fx4 for 6 months and was dealing with all sorts of nasties.

The Day I hooked it into a system with LR, that all evaporated.

Something to think about.

OP
OP
A

AllStupidQuestions

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Will you be running any live rock in the system?

I ran my frag system with a long cycled fluval fx4 for 6 months and was dealing with all sorts of nasties.

The Day I hooked it into a system with LR, that all evaporated.

Something to think about.
I dont have any LR I only have DR. I guess I could use some DR in the tank

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dont have any LR I only have DR. I guess I could use some DR in the tank
You can, yes. It will take a while for it to settle in and will likely have a nasty ugly phase.

What sort of frags are you planning on bringing in to grow out?