TheBirdsNest

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello folks!

Hope everyone has had a great weekend!

I'm relatively new to the hobby and got my first Red Sea Reefer 250 a couple of months ago.. Last week I added my first corals and all seem to be doing well with the exception of my Candy Cane.. The first 2-3 days it looked happy but now it seems to be shrinking and I'm worried its dying off.. I've shared some photos below.. What are your thoughts??

IMG_1235.jpeg

IMG_1236.jpeg

I've seen conflicting advice on placement, it's currently low in my tank and has low to moderate flow.
My water parameters are below:

Temp: 26.2'C
Salinity: 1.025
PH: 8.0
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 20ppm
Phosphate: 0-0.1ppm
KH: 81. dKH
Magnesium: 1600ppm
Calcium: 470ppm

My magnesium is super high.. Must have calculated something wrong so I've done an 8% water change today.
Is that a likely cause or does anything else look off for those numbers?

I'm running two Red Sea LED 90's at the default 15K 8-hour setting.. Two Reef Wave 25's at 30% random and skimmer on a relatively dry skim.

Any advice would be great, I don't want this guy to die and hopefully I can do something about it before it's too late?!

Cheers,
Lawrence

OP
OP
TheBirdsNest

TheBirdsNest

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, other corals in there that seem pretty happy so far are:

* Kenya Tree
* Green and Red Zoa's (doing the best)
* Pulsating Xenia's
* Firework Xenia (I think is the name)

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
my first thought is that its getting too much flow, but if you say its in a low flow spot, then maybe thats not it.