Cary's First 40B Reef Setup

caltman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone! First post here so please be gentle with me! I have been reading everything I can find and researching out questions as they come to me... but seriously, I am a total newbie here and I am finding myself seriously stupid about this whole thing, at least at the moment.

To tell you just how dumb I still am, I bought a used tank and some used equipment from a local guy who has been in this for a long while, and whom I believe is a member on this forum somewhere... at least we discussed this place during our chat. Along with the tank he sold me a wave pump a heater and a light... and I was all set for my grand entry into this hobby.

So, I bought 3x 20# bags of living sand and dumped them into 25 gallons of my newly mixed reef water... with the wave pump in the tank and running. I heard the motor fail.... sort of a pop and a zap at the same time. Lesson learned. Sand and impellors do not mix well. One would have hoped that I had been smart enough to know better than to do this... so there you go... I am the quintessential dumb newbie at this moment in time, doing extremely dumb things.

Two more wave pumps arrived yesterday and I got them installed, along with a backup 300w heater and a good thermometer. The picture I am going to share later was from yesterday just after installing the new pumps, now moving a good circular flow around the tank. The cloudiness is still there while the sand continues settling to the bottom, and as of this morning, with the much better circulation, the water is beginning to clear very dramatically.