Chemi-pure elite question

Parsely

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m 2.5 months into my first tank, a Fluval evo 13.5g and have noticed the water has gotten a slight yellow tint to it. I’m guessing that means that I need to replace the carbon bag that came with the tank.

I was looking where to go and buy the carbon and came across this chemi-pure elite product. That seems to be carbon + purigen? The store with chemi-pure is about an hour drive for me Vs a store with carbon and purigen is about 10minutes, is this effectively the same thing?

I’m very new to this so I’m kind of lost at what I should be putting in and why so any guidance would be really helpful

EricR

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Chemi Pure ELITE has GFO so is designed to reduce phosphates -- don't use that unless phosphate reduction is your goal.
Chemi Pure BLUE is more like regular carbon (GAC) -- I think it's mostly carbon with some other "stuff" so probably more like what you're looking for if just general water clarity is the goal.

OP
OP
P

Parsely

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok good to know, my phosphates are fine so that would have been a mistake on my part then.

is chemipure blue worth the extra drive or should I just stick with carbon?

OP
OP
P

Parsely

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it something I should actively be using though, or only if I notice my phosphates getting too high?

reefiniteasy

Check me out on IG!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I use ChemiPure Blue in my 25
Lagoon and swap it out roughly every two months when I see phosphate rise. In my 40 I use a product called ClearFX Pro which is a similar product but larger bag.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0