Controllers

BRS

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
Am I the only one that has never used a controller or for some reason haven’t tried to justify adding one to my reef ?

all the posts regarding the release of the new apex has me thinking again … what could a controller do for my reef without upgrading lights and pumps
Currently using t5’s and and jeabo pumps .
 
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

blaxsun

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 15, 2020
Messages
15,630
Reaction score
17,749
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
The Abyss
I hadn't heard of the new Neptune Apex - so thanks for the head's up! Well, in short - it can literally do anything you want it to. Mine monitors parameters, tests, doses (and adjusts based on testing), provides ATO, leak detection, PAR levels - you name it. I have everything automated so I shut down or control numerous devices during feeding, maintenance, emergencies, etc.
 

naterealbig

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 1, 2018
Messages
1,494
Reaction score
2,062
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Tampa
Am I the only one that has never used a controller or for some reason haven’t tried to justify adding one to my reef ?

all the posts regarding the release of the new apex has me thinking again … what could a controller do for my reef without upgrading lights and pumps
Currently using t5’s and and jeabo pumps .

As someone who started the hobby without a controller, I can say my first tank was more successful and required less time to maintain.

They can be handy, but also add failure points. Set up your tank with redundancy and quality equipment, and you may be better off without.

My next SPS (ultra-low maintenance) build will utilize a couple simple timers, dual (quality) AC return pumps, and an industrial grade temperature controller, and that's it.

My experience with Neptune while I was running Apexes, was excellent.
 

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
3,580
Reaction score
7,776
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
Am I the only one that has never used a controller or for some reason haven’t tried to justify adding one to my reef ?

all the posts regarding the release of the new apex has me thinking again … what could a controller do for my reef without upgrading lights and pumps
Currently using t5’s and and jeabo pumps .


As you know, I am "old school" same as you. I don't have a controller on my tank either. Closest thing I have is a power tower that allows me to turn off only what I want turned off with the push of a button.
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
As you know, I am "old school" same as you. I don't have a controller on my tank either. Closest thing I have is a power tower that allows me to turn off only what I want turned off with the push of a button.
Power tower ( similar to bread clips labeled and on the end of each corresponding cord plugged into a power bar in a strategic position so I remember where it is .)

lights are on a timer , I have a 4 head dosing pump that I haven’t had to use since the old 90 gal was full of sps .
I can’t adjust intensity of the T5’s and was advised awhile ago t5’s are sufficient and no point measuring par .

as for quality equipment . I have been fairly lucky so far
 
AquaSD
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I have been keeping reef tanks for 13yrs and I have never used any type of controller. Closest thing I habe is an ATO.
Same …

went against my old routine hooking up a tunze ato ..

No more carrying 5gal buckets but …. That ato still needs a bucket of water to fill it .
I argued for weeks of why it wouldn’t be easier cause I still have to carry a bucket of water , my as well just dump it into the dt .

not letting 5 gals evaporate before dumping water in has been better ..,,,
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I have been keeping reef tanks for 13yrs and I have never used any type of controller. Closest thing I habe is an ATO.
I remember the old days .
I had a red sea wave maker controller . Essentially it had 4 plugs on it to plug 4 different pumps into .
I sold it a week later .
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I remember the old days .
I had a red sea wave maker controller . Essentially it had 4 plugs on it to plug 4 different pumps into .
I sold it a week later .
And I found a google picture of it
 

Attachments

  • 5EB51516-352C-4D6D-8CC1-6181A54715BC.jpeg
    5EB51516-352C-4D6D-8CC1-6181A54715BC.jpeg
    13.2 KB · Views: 5
AquaCave Logo Banner

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
3,051
Reaction score
3,530
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
I really think they are incredibly useful. I got my first one about 15 years ago...at that point, I too thought "I've been doing this for a decade without one."

Now I wouldn't run a tank without one. The fail-safes are second to none. I'm looking to upgrade my first gen apex. Not sure if I will go with v2 or v3.
 

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
64,109
Reaction score
139,232
Review score
+4 /0 /-0
Location
Wisconsin - Florida before Fall
The old days, this was my controller:

1659751479528.png
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
I really think they are incredibly useful. I got my first one about 15 years ago...at that point, I too thought "I've been doing this for a decade without one."

Now I wouldn't run a tank without one. The fail-safes are second to none. I'm looking to upgrade my first gen apex. Not sure if I will go with v2 or v3.
This is partially why I posted this …

I’ve been considering adding one for years but having a hard time financially justifying the need for it .
and don’t want to lose interest as the fun of reefing is what everyone seams to be automating .
 
Corals.com

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
3,580
Reaction score
7,776
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.

This is the power tower I got for my new 135.

Each of the 4 rings has 4 well placed outlets on it. It accepts the large power packs that a lot of plugs have. The bottom ring has 2 standard plugs as well as 4 USB ports. the top 3 rings all have 4 standard outlets.

Each ring can be turned on and off independently of the others. Makes it easy to simply push a button and make the flow stop for cleaning and such.
 

areefer01

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 28, 2021
Messages
843
Reaction score
939
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ca
Am I the only one that has never used a controller or for some reason haven’t tried to justify adding one to my reef ?

No, your not. There are a lot of hobbyists without them just as there are those with. Nothing new here.

all the posts regarding the release of the new apex has me thinking again … what could a controller do for my reef without upgrading lights and pumps

The question is really on you, the hobbyist, and what you would want a controller to do for you. If this is something you want then you would have a requirements list. Then read up on each controller over the counter and then DIY and see which one would meet your needs.

Discussion really stops there as you are Go - must start here before you can collect $200.
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada

This is the power tower I got for my new 135.

Each of the 4 rings has 4 well placed outlets on it. It accepts the large power packs that a lot of plugs have. The bottom ring has 2 standard plugs as well as 4 USB ports. the top 3 rings all have 4 standard outlets.

Each ring can be turned on and off independently of the others. Makes it easy to simply push a button and make the flow stop for cleaning and such.
Th is is pretty cool .
 

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 16, 2021
Messages
3,580
Reaction score
7,776
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Mecred, CA.
Since my lights are Kessil app controlled, I don't need a timer for them. The fuge light I do have a basic manual style timer for. Remember me saying the outlets on this are well spaced? That huge timer fits just fine and does not interfere with access to any of the other outlets.
 
OP
Rmckoy

Rmckoy

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
5,088
Reaction score
6,024
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Ontario Canada
Since my lights are Kessil app controlled, I don't need a timer for them. The fuge light I do have a basic manual style timer for. Remember me saying the outlets on this are well spaced? That huge timer fits just fine and does not interfere with access to any of the other outlets.
Sold .
 
Tidal Gardens

Chrisv.

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 17, 2012
Messages
3,051
Reaction score
3,530
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
This is partially why I posted this …

I’ve been considering adding one for years but having a hard time financially justifying the need for it .
and don’t want to lose interest as the fun of reefing is what everyone seams to be automating .
I mostly use mine for controlling temp and monitoring stuff.
 
QT FISH
Top