Coral Frag Plug Too Big, Need some advice

georgeburt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, I’m new to reefing and I have started off my journey with a Red Sea Max Nano, all is going very well!

I bought my first coral yesterday which is the torch you can see in the photos, I think it’s happy?

Anyway, it’s come on this big black square frag plug which doesn’t have a stem underneath it, is there a way I can maybe trim the plug to make it that bit smaller? Or maybe take the coral off of the plug? Just really don’t want to hurt the coral, also I secured it to the rock yesterday with 2 part epoxy, so not sure how hard it’s going to be to get that plug off the rock again Really new to corals and don’t know much at all about fragging etc. Just really don’t like the size and shape of the plug.

Any help or tips would be very much appreciated!

Thank you!

1FEDC3E8-CB7C-4D84-8619-E2333AB632C1.jpeg 59ED1780-74B9-45C9-A0E8-0A7A238A60A7.jpeg 75329615-9A61-4454-A931-0CCF81617F72.jpeg

OP
OP
G

georgeburt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pop it off the ugly square and glue it directly to the rocks
How do I do this without damaging the coral? The square is secured to the rocks at the moment with DD’s epoxy so I need to somehow try and get it off. What is the best glue also?

Thank you for your response.

Upvote 0

polyppal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How do I do this without damaging the coral? The square is secured to the rocks at the moment with DD’s epoxy so I need to somehow try and get it off. What is the best glue also?

Torch stems are pretty tough, you should still be able to pry it off with a razorblade pretty easilly, if not cut it off low at the base.

Use a thick gel superglue like BSI OC-Gel. Put a good size glob on the bottom of the coral and push it and hold in place on the rock. after a minute or two should hold by itself

Upvote 0
OP
OP
G

georgeburt

View Badges
Reaction score