Corals in trouble?!

BabyShark

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello
I’ve had my tank for about 6 months and recently added some corals. They seemed to be doing fine the first few weeks. I recently had a brown algae bloom, but it settled down after changing my lighting schedule. One of my zoa colonies have closed up a bit and I noticed brown stringy stuff on them and some white stuff. I’m still relatively new to corals so any help would be appreciated!
22C649C5-F9C4-45B3-B350-B2C95EBC646E.jpeg

Greatdane

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to corals to and I have the same issue I got new coral and my zoas are closing people said that they are weird and they just close up but they also said how they can take a while to acclimate so he’s probably doing that how old is it

NewGoby

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your zoa's are very bothered by the algae in between & on top of them, which is preventing them from opening.

Please post your water parameters, and lighting schedule.

For now you can use a turkey blaster to try & get some of it off the zoa's, or even small pliers, it's usually what I do if I get a zoa frag that's bothered by algae

CuzzA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Assuming water quality is good, closed zoas generally is the first sign there is a parasite, like zoanthid eating nudibranchs. Quite common, especially if coming from a LFS. Do a search on how to do freshwater dips. Pretty simple. Match temp and ph. See what turns up.

Greatdane

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your zoa's are very bothered by the algae in between & on top of them, which is preventing them from opening.

Please post your water parameters, and lighting schedule.

For now you can use a turkey blaster to try & get some of it off the zoa's, or even small pliers, it's usually what I do if I get a zoa frag that's bothered by algae
Are you talking about mine or his

CuzzA