CP and Barletts Anthias

ecam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just got a trio of barletts in on Wed.... They seemed to be acclimating fine but all barletts and 1 lyretail dropped dead over the weekend..... Only difference is that I pre-treated the water w\ CP prior to dropping them in... instead of waiting a few days for them to get comfortable......

The 40 breeder was dosed at 80 mgs to maintain the proper ratio.... and Ive been using this QT for 6 months so its fully cycled

Any issues w\ CP and Anthais? or would copper be better for them

Thanks in advance
@Humblefish

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've personally ran several batches of anthias thru CP with no issues. However, I have been noticing more "anthias dead" threads where CP was dosed; so I'm starting to wonder. :confused:

It's clear I need to do more research on this matter, so use copper with anthias for the time being.

OP
OP
E

ecam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have a qt ready to go but its already at 2.0 copper. Can I throw the new surviving fish into the qt. or should I drain and ramp up slowly over 3 days.

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's always best to ramp copper up slowly. Every time.

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have a qt ready to go but its already at 2.0 copper. Can I throw the new surviving fish into the qt. or should I drain and ramp up slowly over 3 days.

Would be best to slowly ramp it up. However, LFS I advise drip acclimates new arrivals directly into 2.0 Coppersafe without issue.

On a side note, I talked to another LFS I advise about CP & anthias. He has run tons of various anthias thru CP without any noticeable losses, so I'm pretty confused. :confused:

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0