Cycling with two clownfish

thisnthat

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi so I’m new to the whole saltwater aquarium hobby and I’ve been enjorying it so far. Currently I’m trying to cycle my tank and I have dry rock with salt water and two small clownfish in a 30 gal. Here are the parameters: Salinity 1.023, Ammonia .7 ppm, Nitrite .25 ppm, Nitrate 10 ppm, Ph 7.9, Temp 78-79F (getting close to the end of the cycle fingers crossed). I know that I should’ve used a fishless cycle but the fish were bought without my knowing and couldn’t be refunded. When I acclimated the fish they seemed content and fine with their surroundings out in the open swimming around together. These clownfish showed no signs of sickness in the store and were together in a tank at the store. I’ve been testing everyday and have been doing water changes once or twice a week to keep the Ammonia at a manageable level for the two. I have been tampering with the ph trying to get it to the 8.1-8.2 range and it seems to be affecting the fish (I’ve done this over a span of a week and it’s been only .1 per day at most) nothing drastic. They are swimming diagonally and are startled easily. They go to high flow areas of the tank and seemed to be stressed. I did some research and It leads me to believe that it’s swim bladder disorder from stress on the fluctuating water levels. So I waited a couple days and they seemed fine. I put some Dr. Tim’s eco balances to promote the nitrifying bacteria and they seemed to start this swim bladder phase all over. There is no redness on fins and they seem to be breathing fine. I may have made them sensitive from constant ph changes but it was over the span of a couple days and at most by .1 in ph. I’m worried they are permanently going to be sensitive from water parameters changing and some advice would be nice. (Ps I may have adjusted the ph a little higher than .1 on one of the days of the week and this may have been the reason, or it’s because of the s