DIY Automated Colorimetric Alkalinity Tester

babrooks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is my take on the DIY automated alk tester. Most of the other builds I have read about use the acid titration method with an electronic Ph probe. That approach has the virtue of simplicity but it requires occasional recalibration. I decided to try to implement a colorimetric version in the style of the Hanna checker, in the hopes that it will require less fiddling once I get it up and running. Here is what I came up with:
1635704162424.png

I built it inside of an old PC case that I had hanging around. Bottom left is the ATX-style PSU. On the right are the four peristaltic pumps: Drain, sample, reagent, and RODI (to wash out the cuvette). They are 3d printed from my own design that I have been using for a couple of years for auto water change and 2 part addition. I wrote about those in a separate thread. Top left is the control board. More on that in a minute. Bottom center is the flux capacitor. Here is a close up:
460D1674-25C6-4414-BE37-859E84FC668C_1_105_c.jpeg

Again, 3d printed from my own design. Here is the CAD picture which makes it a bit easier to see how it fits together, and with the cover off the cuvette:
alktester_withscale2.png

In the middle is a square cuvette with the bottom drilled out and a cut-off pipette tip jammed in. Here it is before I cut and glued the tip:
1635703890238.png