Do you see your corals as pets?

Double monti 61

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If they are something you care for and try to keep healthy and happy then I believe you can consider them pets although they do not react like a dog or cat they do react to the care they receive.

Rick's Reviews

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've just cut up my first mushroom today, I feel like I'm hurting this coral, it's a weird feeling as I'm new to this.

I think it's more towards the fact they move more/ react defencely.
I guess you just need adjust your thoughts towards a goal, money/ income

Its a very wierd feeling, unfortunately you can not sell emotions

Reefer Matt

Reef Cave Dweller
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Imo, a pet is a being that acknowledges you in their presence (well, most of the time :grinning-squinting-face:). A specimen is a being that doesn't, and carries on despite you.
So coral are specimens, and fish are pets to me. But they all deserve our best effort in their care. :beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes:

EpisodeMnH

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well they’re technically both, if we’re being literal. But I definitely view them as more of a living decoration than a pet. I don’t grow any emotional attachment to them like I do with my fish, or even my crustaceans. I teared up when my previous Cleaner Shrimp died lol. Last time I lost a coral, it was more of an angry “Ouch, my pockets” type of feeling.