Enough light for corals??

cookiehouse79765

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you think this is enough lights for corals? It’s two marineland LED 48 inches and a aqueon 48 inch LED on a 48 inch tank 8o gallon tank.

E0FF59F0-4941-4B33-8402-FFDE6F171CD2.jpeg 0C5A611C-8889-4251-8A4A-517DC5F2D7E3.jpeg

Alexopora

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you think this is enough lights for corals? It’s two marineland LED 48 inches and a aqueon 48 inch LED on a 48 inch tank 8o gallon tank.

E0FF59F0-4941-4B33-8402-FFDE6F171CD2.jpeg 0C5A611C-8889-4251-8A4A-517DC5F2D7E3.jpeg
I don’t think having all those deco and fake corals in the tank would be a good idea. The paint especially may leech into the water.

Upvote 0

ScubaSkeets

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm still relatively new at this (first SW tank was started in September '20), so take my reply for what it's worth.
Corals need more than just "enough light". Usually, the stock lights that come with the Petco/PetSmart ensembles might not be sufficient for corals, even though they might "look" OK to us. That is, if that is what you have. Full Spectrum lights and good PAR are essential for corals. You might want to invest in better lights.
As far as the snarky, comments about your decor, I guess people forget that we are all beginners at one point, and that that forgetfulness justifies making fun/being sarcastic to newer members.
That being said, if you take a look at other members tanks, you'll see that a more natural look for a coral tank is preferred over one that has plastic, fake looking decor and bubblers. I even wanted to put a bubbler and, what I thought was a nice, "natural" looking piece in my tank at first, until my wife convinced me otherwise, and I am glad she did.
It's your tank, and you can do what you want with it, but to be quite honest, it does look like a FW setup.

Upvote 0

Alexopora

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0