Expanding knowledge

Zcamden

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy, I’m new to reef2reef and have been very pleased with all the experience and information that has been provided here. I have been a hobbyist in salt water my whole life and have discovered failure is the best teacher in this hobby. I have dabbled in the idea of attending Animal behavior college for aquatic maintenance to expand my knowledge. I wanted to see with all the experience that y’all have what you thought of this idea and if it’s a waste of time/ money. Would it be more beneficial to just apply at an aquarium near me to absorb or rely on others hobbyists. I want to start a career in aquarium maintenance and I’m very passionate about this. Any feed back would be welcome.

3046F4C6-44E4-4149-B751-14CED57DC602.jpeg 2D072A8B-A392-467E-9E36-FC82CB1EB16E.jpeg 50545B14-C7AB-49C3-AF68-561B523AB961.jpeg

kichimark

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Glad to have you around. Hopefully someone with experience in having that as a business will come on in and help you out.

I did after I graduated volunteered with the Aquarium of the Pacific but I actually helped out more than I learned at that time (i.e. different foods and methods of feeding garden eels). I learned a lot more from reading through others experiences and asking questions along with experimentation myself.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had animal behavior class at University and 30 years ago it was an almost universally hated course. I don’t know if it has improved much since then?
I’d try to find a position doing that kind of work and learn on the job.

Anyway, I hope that wasn’t too harshly worded, it wasn’t meant to be please & thank you.

Welcome to Reef2Reef!

The Aquatic Arsenal

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0