Fighting Conch in a 14G?

Jib

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to reefing and a little overwhelmed by the amount of conflicting information out there.

I wanted a Nassarius Snail when I got my Clownfish to help clean up with any uneaten food. My LFS doesn't carry them but instead offers fighting conchs which they deem superior for that purpose. They noted 1 would be fine for a 14G. When I got home I started researching, and found much conflicting information about what tank size is needed. Some sites say 30G or 50G is the minimum. Others say they are fine for nanos. He's pretty small now (about 1 - 1.5 inches), but I understand it will likely double in size.

Any thoughts about tank size conchs?

As a side note, he is really cool, and I enjoy seeing his eyes pop up from the sand as he moves around the substraight.

One Reefing Boi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I mean I personally would go for it and don't really see an issue. at that size in that tank it shouldn't be too bad. I have a 15g and wanted to get one but currently overstocked a bit so will have to wait till I get my bigger tank set up. Provided there is enough room in the sand bed and not a ton of rocks everywhere, I think it is an ok addition.

OP
OP
Jib

Jib

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Provided there is enough room in the sand bed and not a ton of rocks everywhere, I think it is an ok addition.

I feel like there is enough sand. He can burry himself completely if he wants to. A couple of pictures...

Conch.jpg Tank Shot.jpg

Last edited:

One Reefing Boi

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
nice tank! it should be fine and if he seems to grow and get crammed, there are options to rehouse it if you wanted to if the time comes

PR_nano

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0