First Reef Tank - 90 gallons

slowleak

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I’m new to Reef 2 Reef and reefing for that matter. Been a long time stalker of the forum (thanks for all the info by the way!) and the tank is finally starting to come together so I thought I would jump in and start my build thread.

I found a good deal on a used 90 gallon peninsula. Going to place it in a corner so have to paint the back black still.
1605145584803.jpeg
Got it all cleaned up with a few days soak in citric acid. Took a little more elbow grease than I was expected :)

I’ve built the frame for the stand and a friend is going to “skin” it for me. My carpentry skills aren’t as good as his.
1605145837200.jpeg

Been working on the aqua scape...
Got 80lbs of Marco rock, which was a little too much for the scape I’m going for...but I’m sure a little extra sitting around is never a bad thing.

Going for a negative space scape. I used the super glue and crushed Marco rock method. The bonds are extremely strong (rock would break before the bonds when I wanted to redo things). It does create a chemical reaction which produces a pretty good amount of heat. It will burn you so wear gloves. It’s a work in progress...have already moved it around several times as it seems everyone does. It’s 8 different structures that fit together right now.
1605147026481.jpeg

Would love to get some advise. Kinda hard to see the depth. I’ll try to get some better pictures as it comes together more.

Cas0311

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I’m new to Reef 2 Reef and reefing for that matter. Been a long time stalker of the forum (thanks for all the info by the way!) and the tank is finally starting to come together so I thought I would jump in and start my build thread.

I found a good deal on a used 90 gallon peninsula. Going to place it in a corner so have to paint the back black still.
1605145584803.jpeg