First Reef Tank Setup Plan!

RoboRabbit89

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all! Its been about 15 years since both my FOWLR tank and me using a forum, haha. When I was a high school sophomore I got a job at a LFS and started saving for a FOWLR tank. I got it all set up and everything was a nightmare, turns out the LFS had poor health procedures and weren't exactly the most educated, and I will admit, being 15 I was pretty impatient and lazy. So this time around I have scowered YouTube and the internet. I've probably watched 100 hours of YouTube from Bulk Reef Supply TV, Mr Saltwater, Reef Builders, Reef Dudes, Tidal Gardens etc. Ive also read a book or two, but they are all pretty old, and read a ton of articles and a few of the starter posts on here. Anyways, I figured this was the next step, and would absolutely appreciate any feedback!

Here is my plan:
you will see that I am using neptune everything, Im super meticulous and a bit OCD so these are right up my ally

Phase 1: Initial set up and Cycle, QT, 4+ weeks
Red Sea Reefer XL 200 42g with 24x24 net lid and sump(3D print lids), Neptune Systems COR-15 Pump(+ backup), neptune apex EL, 30 lb caribsea life rock(I want more room for the fish to swim so I'm using less than the norm), 40 lb caribsea arag-alive sand, RODI filter, Brute buckets, tests, route all neptune gear and cables with cable bundle clips to closet(fish room) wall mounts and shelf for supplies, starter bacteria, QT- 10g starter kit, PVC pipes. Use QT light after the initial cycle for algae cycle.

Phase 2: First Fish captive, CUC, Skimmer, heater, filter cup, battery, 2 weeks each animal/group
Banded/Nassarius snails, blue/red hermits, emerald, peppermint shrimp, Bicolor blenny, ORA yellow watch goby, pistol shrimp, Reef Octopus Classic 150SSS 5" Skimmer, bulk reef titanium 300w heater(+ backup), filter cup pad and biopellets, icecap battery backup, drip acclimator