First time 40 Breeder

FF419

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I'm new to the hobby and to the forums. I just started cycling my 40 breeder. I'm a hobbyist woodworker so I built my stand. Hoping to document how this goes on here and perhaps get some pointers along the way. Here's my progress so far...

Equipment:

40 Breeder, 20 Long sump
70lbs of dry live rock
40lbs Caribsea dry aragonite
Hydra 52
1050 Hydor powerhead
Eshopps Eclipse S Overflow
2016 Neptune Apex
Finnex HPG 200w heater
Reef Octopus Classic 110 internal skimmer
Jebao DCP-8000 return pump
BRS 4-stage RODI

I started with two 10ft board of poplar.

Most of the pieces to final dimensions and legs laminated together. Quite a bit of work to get to this stage.

Legs mortised and stretchers tenoned, doing some dry fitting. You can see the tanks being leak tested in back.

Sides

Into the house finally!

1MzKzst.jpg

And finally after weeks of work building everything I got it filled and starting to cycle!

2Nu2CYx.jpg

Here is a close up of the light mount I made.
maKriYR.jpg

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there and welcome to R2R!

That’s a great stand you’ve built there and nice tank and thanks for all the pictures we LOVE pictures on here!

OP
OP
FF419

FF419

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks everyone! Here is my water making/change setup I designed...

My tank is above a finished room in the basement, but I was able to snake a piece of 1/2 inch pex through the wall from my return manifold. In the basement the end of the pex has a dripless quick connect fitting from BRS which I'm able to click either a drain tube that I run to the utility sink or a pump to fill the display tank with fresh saltwater I mix in the basement.