Fish stocking

Bos

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Don't have my tank yet, planning a Red Sea 425XL 4ft tank (maybe a 525XL, 5ft debating the maintenance required and extra expense)

Anyway, unlike most listings, I'm going to ask what CAN'T I keep in a 48" 116G tank

Stock in a 'normal' LFS please.....

I have a rough idea of at least what I want to start with, just want to see what experienced 'bigger' tank reefer have

OrionN

Anemones
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think your question is "wrong". You should look/ask and see which fish should go "well" in that size tank rather than not doing well. One of the best Pocket guide I recommended is the a pocket guy by Scott W. Michael: Reef Aquarium Fishes 500+ Essential-to-Know Species. I used a previous version when I at the LFS when I was a novice. You can buy this book at the cost of less than the cost of an average fish. IT WILL keep you from a lot of grief and from wasting a lot of money from dead fish.
BTW, what fish to put together in a tank depends a lot on what fish you have/will have in there, not just the size.
Re-ask your question and you will get a lot better information to guide you in stocking your tank. Important questions are:

What kind of tank are you looking to put together? What kind of corals? FOWLR?
Aggressiveness level of the fishes?
What are your must have fish? Favorites? For fish stocking I would start from this and go from there?
What utility fish need to go into it?
..., ..., ...

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No list that we could create for you could possibly be comprehensive, and any such list could not account for what types of fish you actually want to look at for the next 5 - 20 years.