Fishless cycle: stalled? done?

bayisland

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Brand new to the hobby here. This is my first attempt at a nitrogen cycle. I used the Dr. Tim's method and followed the instructions exactly. I'm getting a bit concerned because nitrite processing seem to be stalled. Here's my setup and parameters so far:

75 gal tank + 20 gal sump
live sand, dry rock
temp: 79-80 degrees
PH: avg 8.11
salinity: 34.5 ppt
RODI water
ammonia and nitrite test kits: Red Sea

• Day 1: Filled tank, added live sand, added bottle of Dr. Tim's One & Only + 4 drops per gal of Dr. Tim's ammonium chloride.
  • Day 3: same ammonium chloride dose.
  • Day 6: same ammonium chloride dose.
  • Day 13: my LFS suggested I add some live rock and turn on the lights, which I did. Also added some coral which is doing fine.
  • Day 16: (today) Ammonia has been at 0 for two days now. Nitrite seems to be holding steady around 1.2 ppm (the Red Sea maxes out at 1 so I'm estimating).

I'm not seeing any signs of algae or sliminess yet. I've also seen other posts where the advice is to ignore nitrite readings and just look at ammonia. So I'm wondering:
  • should I be concerned that nitrite is not dropping?
  • should I add more ammonium chloride to see if it processes?
  • should I add a pair of clownfish now or just be patient and keep testing?
I don't know why things are taking so long since most people seem to have success with Dr. Tim's and the cycle is supposed to be done on day 9. I've done a few nitrate tests (Red Sea) and it comes back as 2 each time, not sure if that's even valid if nitrites are still present. Any help is appreciated.

Here is my ammonia (blue) and nitrite (orange). Day 1 was Dec 19 and I'm now on day 16 (Jan 3):

Screenshot 2023-01-03 at 09.07.36.png

misturrtinnie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0