Gyre programming question.

Discussion in 'GHL Advanced Technology' started by Brew12, Nov 19, 2018.

  1. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I'm looking at controlling opposing gyres using the Profilux. Ideally, I would like to have one at 10% and the other at 80%. The one at 10% would ramp up over 30 minutes to 80%. The one originally at 80% would ramp down to 10% over 30 minutes and then stay at 10% for 20 minutes.

    Is there any way to program this in the Profilux, or is there some other way to get a similar effect?
     
    Tristren likes this.
    Tags:

  2. reacclimating 2 the hobby

    reacclimating 2 the hobby patience is... oh look an acro pack fs! R2R Supporter Partner Member 2019 R2R Secret Santa Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    3,613
    Location:
    Dannemora, NY
    Following along, just received two XF250's for my XL 525.
     
    mta_morrow likes this.
  3. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Hmm.. not seeing any way to do what I would like using the pump settings.
    I think I might be able to do it using the light settings. Not sure how many different inflection points you can put in the illumination channels but it might work. I'll need to play around with that when I get home tonight.
     
    Sarah24! and Tristren like this.
  4. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Did some homework and I want to make sure I am correct in this line of thinking. I can go to an Illumination channel, say #20. I can then program it by adding break points. Once I get all my break points added in I can assign it to L1. I can set it from 1V to 10V and connect that port to the gyre controller using a break out box. Am I good so far?
    If so, I did a test and programmed in 24 points. Anyone know just how many points I can program into an illumination channel? This looks like it could work incredibly well if my thinking is correct.
     
    Tristren likes this.
  5. Ditto

    Ditto Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    @Brew12 - I been playing with this with my Tunze Pumps :) with illumination channels and can tell you can have 24 points. So you could only get 1/2 a day :(

    I created one channel that ramps up every hour starting from 10% to 80%. And switches to night mode from 8:00pm to 5:00am. (18 Set points, this allows for 6 more +2 if you do not want any nite mode. Which would give you a total of another 6 hours)

    tunze1.png

    I went down to 45 Minute intervals was able to go to 10:00pm, with a night at 25% from midnight to 5:00am. (this used all 24 channels)

    tunze2.png

    You would just create the other in the opposite direction.

    Doing this you will loose feed mode options on your pumps, unless we can get them to allow us to do advance logic on the 1-10v ports then the sky would be the limit.

    But a few cool things I did play with:
    You do not loose thunderstorms it works I tried it on the my tunze
    You pick up clouds so the pumps can randomly slow down
    You can even use the season table on the pumps.
     
    Tristren likes this.
  6. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Thanks @Ditto this information is fantastic! I don't care about a feed mode since I think my fish feed better when they hunt down their food. I'll have to think through how I want to set it up based on the 24 point limitation. Go figure I stopped my testing right at the limit.

    Would be really nice if we could change which lighting channel was assigned to each output based on time. That way we could cycle through 4 different lighting channels per pump and get 96 points!
     
    Tristren and Ditto like this.
  7. Ditto

    Ditto Valuable Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor Hospitality Award

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    @Brew12 Glad to help, was a good experiment to try on my Tunze pumps :)

    @Vinny@GHLUSA and @Marco@GHLUSA anything that we may have missed? Does the 80% on the illumination channel work the same as say 80% on the Stream groups when it comes to voltage to the 1-10v port?
     
    Tristren and Brew12 like this.
  8. Marco@GHLUSA

    Marco@GHLUSA GHL Team R2R Supporter Platinum Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    383
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    0-10v = 0-10v .. so yes, would work the same, however make sure your voltage settings are correct under the respective 0-10v channels. You can have a minimum and maximum there, which will skew the %'s.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  9. Mortie31

    Mortie31 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter UK Reef Club Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    Uttoxeter. England
    Do you have a Maspect or icecap gyre? If you do work out how to do this please post it on here...
     
  10. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I have the Maxspect XF250's. Already use two on their standard controller, have 2 more on order. I was only able to order two of the Icecap controllers and will order two more when they come back in stock. The power supplies have already been delivered. I hope to have everything and be able to start doing some testing this coming weekend.

    This is what my first go at the programming looks like. I'd rather have it alternating many more times, but I am limited to the 24 break points.
    upload_2018-11-27_15-46-34.png

    2 will run on this pattern, the other 2 will be offset by 1.5 hours with some slight modifications. Hopefully it will work as expected.
     
    DLHDesign likes this.
  11. Mortie31

    Mortie31 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter UK Reef Club Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    Uttoxeter. England
    Cool, I have 2 250s and the new controller, how are you connecting them to your P4? I can’t see a 10v connector port on my controller
     
  12. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I'm using a break out box to make the connection.
     
  13. Mortie31

    Mortie31 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter UK Reef Club Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    Uttoxeter. England
    Thanks, I’ll have to have a look into the breakout box, I cannot picture how it will work with the new maxpect controller
     
  14. Mortie31

    Mortie31 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter UK Reef Club Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    Uttoxeter. England
  15. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
  16. Tristren

    Tristren Active Member Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Ottawa
    It won't work with the Maxspect controller unfortunately. That's why @Brew12 ordered the Icecap controllers.

    You need one Icecap controller for each Gyre. It's kind of irritating because all it is doing is translating the 1-10v signal from the ProfiLux breakout box to whatever signal the Gyre recognizes.

    But the same is true if you want to use them with an Apex. So it's not a GHL thing it's a Maxspect thing.

    It would be nice if they were directly controllable. Seems a waste to by a controller just as an interface.


    Cheers, Tony
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  17. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    That's a fact. But, at least you can buy the pump and controllers separately. I'll have purchased the 4 pumps but only 1 of the original controllers. The silly thing is that you can only buy the power supply you need directly from Coralvue.
     
    Tristren likes this.
  18. Tristren

    Tristren Active Member Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Yes, that's true. If I was getting them now I would probably get the maxspect gyres and Icecap controllers.

    Having said that, the maxspect controller is really very good. The automatic programs are quite interesting. There is more controlabilty with it than there is (currently) through the ProfiLux. Hopefully that will change.

    Cheers, Tony
     
  19. Mortie31

    Mortie31 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter UK Reef Club Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Location:
    Uttoxeter. England
    Thanks chaps, for clearing that up.
     
    Tristren likes this.
  20. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Partner Member 2019 Reef Tank 365 Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor North Alabama Reef Club

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    17,521
    Likes Received:
    37,876
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I agree, the Maxspect controller is very good. But it is only good for a maximum of 2 pumps. If I could sync 2 controllers together with each controlling 2 pumps I would have gone that route.
    2 pumps aren't providing quite enough flow so I'm putting two of them end to end on each side of my tank.
     
    Tristren likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...