Hello from Canada and help

forgetfulreefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been reefing for about 7 or 8 years now and freshwater lots before that. I am currently running a 90 gallon system. Hate to start off with a problem but i currently have dinoflagellates (ostreopsis) Yep did the microspcope check . This is first time having them and i am having a hard time figuring out if there is a sure way to kill the lil buggers :) I had recently neglected my tank by letting my kids take care of it for the last year .
Well needless to say they let everything die ugh, except my 2 clown fish a pink pencil wrasse and a cardinal as well as some mushrooms. Well i have taken the tank back and with no surprise found nitrates were off the charts as well as phosphates etc. I did an aggressive clean with bio pellet reactor and dosing Red Sea Algae Management as well as GFO and some carbon. I finally got all my parameters back to normal nitrates down to 2ppm phosphates at .02
Calcium 440 alkalinity was at 8.9 but starting to drop currently 7.5 , calcium stays the same , Magnesium is high tho, over 1500 ppm , by how much not sure. Anyway once i got things all back to normal and my tank restocked with corals a beautiful new rainbow bubble tip anemone and a couple new fish BAM DINOS!!
Any help or a place to start would be appreciated the thought of a complete reset scares the crap out of me lol. i have started by raising my ph up slowly trying to get to 8.5 as i read that will help. Added some copepods as my sandbed seems to be lacking in life as well . 5 inches of sand btw was going to be a deep sandbed but ran out of sand lol but i think 5 inches classifies as one . Waiting on a bulb for my uv sterilizer not sure if i should use it to. OK i think thats it for now and where i am at right now. Thanks for any and all help
Your forgetfulReefer :)

mike werner

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0