HELP !!High nitrates? Phosphates?

larryhaynes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, i am new to the hobby and have been having problems with elevated nitrates and phosphates for some time now, and my corals are starting to become affected. i do 6 gallon water changes EVERY week and still have the problem i have a 29g biocube with purigen, chemipure not the elite and aquamaxx bio pellets in a cpr nano tumbler also have lots of rubble in the middle chamber 30lbs lr, and 40lbs ls. two clowns, two damsels, two gobies. several snails hermits and a cleaner shrimp.. lots of softies, lps, and a few sps.. what am i doing wrong? i just did an 18 gallon wc over the past three days and still have the problems! i dont get it i have cleaned everything in the back. someone please help me!!

glb

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have the nitrates always been high or is this a new problem?

Sent Via the R2R Forum APP
12g Nanoreef. Zooanthids, Ricordia, Star Polyps and two clownfish. CF Lighting, 75% actinic blue, 25% 10,000k white.

mike007

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are you using for your water changes? Do you have live rock? Most nitrate problems are caused by excess nutrients which is usally overfeeding.There are some good threads here that will help you understand why you are having these issues.

Rikerbear

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sand bed or bare bottom?
RO/DI water for WC and top offs
When you do your water changes, do you siphon up the detritus off the bottom and out of the back chambers?
Do you use any form of filter floss, sponges, etc?

tbone74

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sand bed or bare bottom?
RO/DI water for WC and top offs
When you do your water changes, do you siphon up the detritus off the bottom and out of the back chambers?
Do you use any form of filter floss, sponges, etc?