SimBZ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone and greetings from Aus,
I need help please!
I am new to having a tank with a sump.
I have a cade with a gravity fed ATO sitting behind the DT.
Yesterday I did the first water change after the cycle has completed. I made marks on the sump for running levels and shut down level.

I made an error in using a different bucket for calculating exported water to the bucket i used to refill, which resulted in a low level in the return pump well (where the ato float sits). I added more water to the return well.

This morning i have woken to "brook like" sounds and discovered the ato float totally out of water ( with only drips falling) and the ATO behind the DT has filled with water to the same level as the DT.
I touched the float and now the level in the ATO is lowering.

Did I put too much water back into the system?

How did the back syphoning occur and how do I stop it from happening again?

Thank you,
Simone

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can you post a picture of your set up for us dim folks who cant make out what the words on the screen mean? :)

I had a flood recently and I hate to say it but I am glad it was you this time. It gets old my friend. Post a picture or someone with your system will be along shortly- bump!
Water Glass GIF by hamasakihaus

OP
OP
SimBZ

SimBZ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The pictures shows the setup. No frills. Low water and after the Auto Top Up filled up the return chamber. Apologies for non standard descriptions.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm recovering from the flu and I am not familiar with the set up so the pictures are helpful.

I am feeling better today, so let me offer another perspective. Auto top offs will operate during water changes and start to refill the sump if you are removing water from there?