Help with Quarantining?

TheSheff

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I will be getting three new fish soon : (1) Longfin clownfish, (1) McCosker's Fairy Wrasse, and (1) Court Jester Goby and I would like to quarantine these fish, but I have never done it before. What process would y'all use to treat these fish? I have a spare 10 gallon, air stone, and heater but nothing else.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
Hello, I will be getting three new fish soon : (1) Longfin clownfish, (1) McCosker's Fairy Wrasse, and (1) Court Jester Goby and I would like to quarantine these fish, but I have never done it before. What process would y'all use to treat these fish? I have a spare 10 gallon, air stone, and heater but nothing else.
Your quarantine tank has the essentials. You will want a sponge filter preferably seeded from another tank or hang on power filter (remove carbon from the filter cartridge. )
These fish are tolerant of coppersafe but run at 2.0 - 2.25 therapuetic level. Wrasse will require a deep bowl of sand to be comfortable.
I recommend using General Cure over copper for 3-4 weeks at 78 deg

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
To add, try to make sure the sand is non-calcerous (no calcium) to avoid it absorbing copper and thus making dosing more difficult.

OP
OP
TheSheff

TheSheff

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your quarantine tank has the essentials. You will want a sponge filter preferably seeded from another tank or hang on power filter (remove carbon from the filter cartridge. )
These fish are tolerant of coppersafe but run at 2.0 - 2.25 therapuetic level. Wrasse will require a deep bowl of sand to be comfortable.
I recommend using General Cure over copper for 3-4 weeks at 78 deg