Hippocampus kuda labor

Natalie Rae Rizzo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone! Natt here! I work at an exotic animal rescue and we received some seahorses 2 weeks ago from is fish & wildlife. One male seems to be pregnant and is possibly in labor. I have put him in a nursery tank inside the regular tank since he does have hungry fish mates. I just want to make sure I haven't moved him too early .I tried to attach a video and it would not let me so there are some photos. He does not have a mate that arrived with him which is why I have moved him .

Thanks for your feedback!

15335930493577563686618996920146.jpg

15335931190994927796442493442428.jpg

15335931478862672706829949475366.jpg

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
He is not looking especially pregnant to me. I am not experienced with H kuda but my H erectus's pouches balloon a whole lot more than that. Sometimes they will inflate their pouches to impress the girls.

OP
OP
Natalie Rae Rizzo

Natalie Rae Rizzo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
He is not looking especially pregnant to me. I am not experienced with H kuda but my H erectus's pouches balloon a whole lot more than that. Sometimes they will inflate their pouches to impress the girls.

Is there a good way to tell? He's been that size for the two weeks he's been here and it looks as though he keeps doing cruches and the opening of his pouch widens . Also a little bit twitchy. We had one give birth when I wasn't here and the fries were all eaten so I don't want to risk it but I also don't want to be putting him through being separated of he doesn't have to be.

Thanks!

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0