drdripp

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Cost without skimmer: $122.50 (skimmer can substituted with a regular pump)

Using this on a 20 gal high with 2 clownfish, 2 fire shrimp

This thing absolutely destroys nitrates. I am new to the hobby (2 months) and didn't want to pay for a HOB refugium, since they would be much smaller than this anyway. I plan to change this setup when I get a sump.

Sometimes it works too well, my chaeto doubled in size in 2 weeks and eliminated nitrates down to zero. To remedy this, I reduced the hours of light each night.

The paint looks ugly because I didn't sand the buckets before painting. If you do this, just get black buckets and save yourself the trouble... but if you paint it, do not paint the inside.

5 gal. DIY refugium using parts from Home Depot and Amazon:
- Waterproof 100W LED Grow Light Full Spectrum, New Technology COB LED Grow Light, Natural Heat Dissipation Without Noise, Suitable for Plants All Growing Stage Indoor or Outdoor. ($32.38)
- 2x 5 Gallon Orange Homer Bucket ($4.48 each)
- 5 gal. Orange Paint Bucket Lid ($2.28)
- 1-1/4 in. PVC Schedule 40 MPT x S Male Adapter ($1.76)
- 1-1/4 in. PVC Schedule 40 Cap ($2.95)
- 2 ft 1 1/4" PVC ($2.36)
- 1/2 in. x 260 in. Thread Sealing PTFE Plumber's Tape ($0.98)
- Bullet-1 Hang-On-Back Protein Skimmer ($114.99), a simple pump will also work, though (I just already had a protein skimmer)
- Chaetomorpha, softball size ($20)
- CaribSea Aragonite Aquarium Sand, 10 lbs. (10.69)
- 2 Pieces 1/8" Round Plexiglass Sheet, 10 Inch Diameter Clear Acrylic Circle, Round Cake Disk Acrylic Sheet, Plexiglass Table Top, Round Acrylic Backdrop ($9.99)
- Clear Silicone 2.7 fl. oz. Waterproof Sealant ($6.28)
- AQUANEAT Circulation Pump, Aquarium Wave Maker, Fish Tank Powerhead Submersible Water Pump with Suction Cup (Small 480 GPH) ($9.88)