mamareef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Someone please tell me how I am supposed to cycle a 20 gallon IM nuvo fusion. I can’t seem to get a clear answer from the internet/YouTube. Apparantly there are a billion ways to do it!?
I will be using caribsea live sand and caribsea life dry rock. I am making my own saltwater with rodi water. I am planning on just doing a very easy basic beginner tank with beginner corals and a couple clownfish.
I ordered some brightwell microbacter start xlm to help with the cycle but have since learned not to use it with live sand?
I don’t want to use live fish because of the potential harm to them.
Sooooo what do I do? Add ammonia? Add a frozen shrimp? Also, so I need to remove all filtration for the cycle? Clearly I am brand new to the hobby. I have been researching for over a month and still feel confused about everything. Ha! Help please! Thank you so much in advance!

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
guaranteed simple testless way:

buy fritz, biospira or dr tims cycling bacteria. one of those three specific kinds.

add per directions into a reef tank of normal salinity, flow and temp.

add two pinches of common flake food (Dr Reef's carbon trick from his thread) and wait five days, you're cycled.

all these bottle bacs listed will carry fish the same day you set up the tank, we waited five extra prudent days for the bac to attach, with no fish no ammonia added.

before you add a single fish after cycle, read the first five pages of the fish disease forum so you can see what skipping disease preps will get you, and then from those five pages you'll also see how to make the preps/