How to install the Random Flow Generator - Support Thread

OP
Vivid Creative Aquatics

Vivid Creative Aquatics

Upgrade Your Flow!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
834
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Phoenix, AZ
@Vivid Creative Aquatics
Hello, I would like to place a RFG on 3/4 inch PVC pipe, what do I need to accomplish this?
currently the only way to achieve this would be pick up a PVC female adapter such as this

then add a 3/4in Loc-Line NPT fitting

and then the 3/4in RFG nozzle would snap onto that. You could also add a few segments of 3/4in Loc-line between the NPT nad the nozzle
 

Victoria M

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
5,511
Reaction score
22,306
Location
Sylvania, OH
currently the only way to achieve this would be pick up a PVC female adapter such as this

then add a 3/4in Loc-Line NPT fitting

and then the 3/4in RFG nozzle would snap onto that. You could also add a few segments of 3/4in Loc-line between the NPT nad the nozzle
Thank you very much!
 
OP
Vivid Creative Aquatics

Vivid Creative Aquatics

Upgrade Your Flow!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
834
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Phoenix, AZ
how hard is the RFG to install into a locline? would i need a tool or a simple push will do?

Thanks
@TheHarold is correct - we desinged the RFG to be easy to snap on genuine loc-line with very little effort. They are also just as easy to remove for cleaning. However, when removing them don't pull straight out on the nozzle, but rather pull to the side, like you're snapping a twig. This will pout the elast amout of stress ont he nozzle and ensure they last as long as your tank.
 

NatD

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
339
Reaction score
907
Hello. I have 2 of these for each of my 1” returns, which will come through the top of my overflow weir.

I’ll be pushing about 1200-1300 gph through each.

I just read in another thread that the tops of them need to be 3/4” below the water line.

My initial thought to accomplish this is that I’ll need to notch out the weir a little lower and have my returns not quite as tall. Alternately , simply cut a 1” circle in the overflow where the return comes out, push the return through, and attach the RFG on the other side.

Should I be drilling a siphon break if I do either of these? Where?
 
OP
Vivid Creative Aquatics

Vivid Creative Aquatics

Upgrade Your Flow!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
834
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Hello. I have 2 of these for each of my 1” returns, which will come through the top of my overflow weir.

I’ll be pushing about 1200-1300 gph through each.

I just read in another thread that the tops of them need to be 3/4” below the water line.

My initial thought to accomplish this is that I’ll need to notch out the weir a little lower and have my returns not quite as tall. Alternately , simply cut a 1” circle in the overflow where the return comes out, push the return through, and attach the RFG on the other side.

Should I be drilling a siphon break if I do either of these? Where?
HI NAtD - thanks for the questions and i apologize fow the the slow response.

The depth will depend the nozzle needs to be will depending on both the size of the RFG and he flow rate. If hey are 3/4in in RFGs then that depth sounds about right. if they are 1in RFG, them you may be bale to get them a little closer to the surface surface . the measurements are based on Position B on the diagrammed in the first post

As far as how you should adjuster you current setup, a few photos might help me better understand what you're dealing with, Can you post a photo of the wire and return?
 

NatD

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
339
Reaction score
907
HI NAtD - thanks for the questions and i apologize fow the the slow response.

The depth will depend the nozzle needs to be will depending on both the size of the RFG and he flow rate. If hey are 3/4in in RFGs then that depth sounds about right. if they are 1in RFG, them you may be bale to get them a little closer to the surface surface . the measurements are based on Position B on the diagrammed in the first post

As far as how you should adjuster you current setup, a few photos might help me better understand what you're dealing with, Can you post a photo of the wire and return?
Hello! The good news is that I haven’t plumbed the returns yet! We are fully flexible. They are 1” returns.
I’ll check out that diagram, thanks.
 
Last edited:

Shooter6

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
753
Reaction score
358
Currently running 4 of the 3/4 rfg nozzles on my 180 gal powered by a jeabo dcq20000 return pump. Im very satisfied. In fact so much so im planning to run multiple of the nozzles on a double closed loop system on my 300gal build.
 
OP
Vivid Creative Aquatics

Vivid Creative Aquatics

Upgrade Your Flow!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
834
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Phoenix, AZ
Can I get the minimal and optimal flow rates for the 1.5 RFG?

Sure

Single 1.5in RFG
- Minimum: 900-1000
- Suggested Optimum Flow: 1,500-2,000+

As with all RFG nozzles you, the Suggested Optimal Flow is where you we feel you'll get the best randomized flow for the least amount of back presure. You should expect around 10-15% max at that rate.

If, however you OK with some additional throughput loss, and you have some pressure to spare, you can really get things rocking with more pressure and more flow.

here's video we did last year that shows just that, with some of our larger RFGs in a pool

Unfortunately for these tests , we didn't have any way of measuring the actual flow rates, but it was with an Abyzz A400 at varying levels of power.
 

InvaderJim

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
298
Reaction score
337
Location
Gainesville, FL
I’m running one of these in my 13.5 fluval evo and I love it. However I just ordered one from BRS for my 3/4” return line on my new tank and it’s so loose it’s unusable. Has anyone else ran into this issue? Wonder if the loc-line that came with my tank is junk
 

Shooter6

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 13, 2017
Messages
753
Reaction score
358
Never ran onto that issue but some linelock is speced differently. I think redsea is one of those companies
 
OP
Vivid Creative Aquatics

Vivid Creative Aquatics

Upgrade Your Flow!
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2017
Messages
834
Reaction score
1,008
Location
Phoenix, AZ
I’m running one of these in my 13.5 fluval evo and I love it. However I just ordered one from BRS for my 3/4” return line on my new tank and it’s so loose it’s unusable. Has anyone else ran into this issue? Wonder if the loc-line that came with my tank is junk

There are a few possibilities that can cause this to happen. The most common is that you may not have genuine Loc-line branded modular hose. There are at least 3 modular hose brands you may encounter here in the US - the most common is the Loc-Line brand. The next common is the SnapLoc brand, which is usually found on newer Aquaeon brand tanks and some overflow kits. If it;s SnapLoc, the nozzle will sort of snap on, but will fit very be loosely.

The easiest way to tell which one you have is to inspect at the hose. If it's Loc-Line, there will be the words "LOC-LINE" embossed around the base of each segment. if you don't see that then it;s s different brand hose. if that is the case, and it's close in size then you likely just need an adapter.

If it IS Loc-line branded hose and hte RFG is loose, then it may just be an issue with the Nozzle itself. It's pretty unlikely but not impossible. either way - we have you covered.

Send us a PM and we'll help you get this figured out.
 

Do you utilize the weekends for tank tasks?

  • Yes (please tell us what in the thread)

    Votes: 43 63.2%
  • NO

    Votes: 4 5.9%
  • Sometimes

    Votes: 21 30.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 0 0.0%

Online statistics

Members online
2,410
Guests online
6,796
Total visitors
9,206
MAX OUT
Top