How to Properly Quarantine Fish

Discussion in 'Fish Discussion' started by SeahorseKeeper, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Aruna

    Aruna Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there any other way than keeping the sponge in the display tank sump. I don't have sump in my tank.My skimmer and filters are attached to display tank.
     
  2. Wonderland

    Wonderland Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    7
    What about dipping fish before putting in QT?
     
  3. acer

    acer Well-Known Member PMAS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Hmmm.... Not sure I agree with treatment if no sign/symptoms are seen. I always thought u obverve in QT, and if no S/S then fish stays in QT for 6 weeks. Then transfer to display. If S/S are seen. Then medicate and clock starts over.
     
  4. akarusso

    akarusso Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    great thread
     
  5. A&NReef

    A&NReef Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    I agree with acer
    If the fish shows no signs of being sick then why medicate ?
    I hate that local fish shops sell people fish that are already in a copper treated water before the fish show any sign of being sick
     
  6. akarusso

    akarusso Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    9
    How long do you acclimate before putting the fish into the QT tank!
     
  7. Tristren

    Tristren Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Everything I've seen says acclimate the same time/way you would going into the DT. Though going from QT to DT will not require the same acclimation then assuming your parameters match.
     

Share This Page

Loading...