How to support a DIY Bowfront stand - Any structural engineer thoughts?

azbigjohn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have decided to start over again, aptasia has beaten me!

One of the main reasons I want to do this, is I want to build my own stand to make getting under the tank easier.

I have a beautiful 6 foot long, 165 gallon bowfront glass aquarium, I am just not sure how I can safely support the bowfront! I would prefer to go wood, as I have never worked with metal before. My first thought is to use 3/4 plywood and trace the bottom of the tank to use as a top and base for the stand, I just cannot figure out how to space/install the supports so that the weight will be safely and evenly supported.

Any and all thoughts are appreciated!

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Happy Saturday:)
Questions
  • Are you going to make the stand in the same shape at the tank, bowed
  • Are you going to my a squared cabinet and have a top that is square
  • Are you going to have the sump under the cabinet
  • what are the measurements of the of the tank
What I did was support the middle of the tank with 2 3/4 pieces of plywood screwed together. I made two of these supports for the center. I put a granite top on top of the cabinet. For the rest of the cabinet I used 4/4 Mahogany for the ends and 3/4 mahogany for the rest of the build and stacked the joints for support. There is a plan on my build thread that may give you some ideas, and one can find my thread by clicking the link in my signature. If you are going with a sump that is going under the cabinet I can draw you out a quick concept, easier than explaining what I am thinking;) using Plywood for the center supports and post it up here?

OP
OP
azbigjohn

azbigjohn

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0