Howdy From Wyoming!

Wy Renegade

Zs and Ps/PE collector
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy Folks;

Some of you may have noticed me poking around and posting occassionaly in the various threads over the last few weeks. What with the addition of the new subforum (Northern Wyoming Reef Club ~ Thanks Rev!), figured it was maybe time for a formal introduction.

I'm a high school science teacher and I teach biology and aquatic biology (1st semester freshwater and 2nd semester saltwater); I've been keeping aquariums in the classroom (mainly freshwater) for over 15 years and for the last seven I've been trying my hand at saltwater reefs. Its been a trial by fire to say the least, and I learned lots the hard way through trial and error. Finally had a computer savy friend who turned me onto the internet forums and what a help that has been. Still have lots to learn and look forward to helping and being helped in turn. Currently at school I have over 15 tanks up and running (again mostly freshwater cichlids) ranging from 15 gallons to 100 gallons (in salt I'm currently running a 30 gal high and 20 gal as a frag tank, and cycling a 20 gal long). For various reasons, I have several that are currently empty. Students in my aquatic class help with tank maintainence and care.

Seen lots of beautiful tanks and coral pictures and I'm looking forward to getting a few more of my own up as well. December of last year, I finally took the plunge and put in a 65 gallon tank at home; Reef-ready tank with 20 gallon sump/fuge, 250w MH and 96w PC lighting and lots of flow. My interests are primarily in ricordia, zoanthids, and palys, but I also have a thing for photosynthetic gorgorians and brain corals. I also keep a few LPS and recently some SPS.

Guess I've rambled on enough ~ look forward to meeting you all and getting to know your reefs.

Last edited:

revhtree

Owner Administrator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0