Information needed about Biopellet reactor!

Patty's tank

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello there,

I am in desperate need for some good advice from experienced reefers. I have been battling with Nitrate levels for about 4 months now, and I have had no success in getting them below 10ppm. The guys at my LFS suggested I should get a Biopellet reactor to help with the problem, but I know nothing about this topic or which reactor to purchase.

I have a 75 g tank with a sump and lots of live rock that has been running since August 2016. I have about 9 fish and a green star polyp which is not looking too healthy. My nitrates are consistently at 10ppm and I do 10 gallon water changes a week (which is getting expensive.) I run a Reef Octopus 110-INT skimmer, a bag of Purigen and Chemi-pure Elite (11.74 oz). I have tried feeding my fish minimally to the point where the fish were starving and it didn't help. I feed once a day and the food is consumed in less than a minute, so I don't think I am overfeeding. All other water parameters are perfect.

So to those with experience using Biopellet reactors, do you recommend I get one? and if you do which one do you recommend? I have been doing some reading about the subject and some people suggest they need to be plugged into the skimmer, is this true or can it just simply be set up next to the skimmer? Any advise will help, Thanks :)
FullSizeRender.jpg

jsker

Reefing is all about the adventure
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you running a ULNS 10 is high, if not 10 is fine for nitrates. I would be more concerned about the phosphates.