Is coral farming on a nano scale worth it in FL?

Seamusthecuber

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone I am new to reef2reef and I am wanting to get into nano coral frag farming. Looking towards growing higher end zoanthids and green star polyps covering tonga branches.
I am wondering how viable it is for a side gig that is also enjoyable and relatively self sustainable. Is there a demand for corals from small individual sales or do the stores in the central fl and online shops take all of the available potential customers?

Sump Crab

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FL is not the best place to start coral farming these days IMO. The state is coming down hard on "invasive" species and the potential is there to shut down the whole industry here some day.

With that being said there are a TON of people who get into the hobby as a "side gig" and most don't last very long. Its $$$$ to farm and hard to turn any real profit it seems.

ninjamyst

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nope not worth it and not sustainable. LFS won't give you a nickel for your corals. Their farms 1000x bigger and better than yours. Selling to locals is hard cuz everyone is doing this already. Can't even get people to take free GSP.

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you are in an active local club where you can advertise your corals for sale, you can do quite well.

Doctorgori

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was wanting to do it small indoor tank roughly 20 to 50 gallons
pardon the slight detour….but I’ve always wondered if Floridas climate prohibited a mariculture type operation similar to those you see in the Indo-Pacific region….must be some law or environmental hurdle prohibiting scaling up a similar operation..

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0