Is my acro colony dying?

gideon2086

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been growing this guy for about three years now - it’s survived some serious alk and nitrate spikes along with two tank moves. The tank has been super stable for a few months now, after I switched to a calcium reactor. I recently began to dose Tropic Marin trace elements after an ICP showed that I was lacking. This guy lost most of its green and then started to do what you see in the pics and vid. Small pieces of the tips have fallen of in some areas as well. I’ve put in new carbon and changed a good bit of water. Also stopped dosing the trace. All other SPS and LPS in the tank seem fine. Not sure what’s going on or what to do about this. Will be very bummed if I lose this guy.

8BD4A5B3-FA8B-4829-9964-398BD73F12DA.jpeg

Alexraptor

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmmm, from what I can tell it looks like it's spewing mesenterial filaments. It's usually a sign of aggression, but can also be a stress response.

OP
OP
gideon2086

gideon2086

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmmm, from what I can tell it looks like it's spewing mesenterial filaments. It's usually a sign of aggression, but can also be a stress response.
Not really close enough to anything for aggression. Stress makes sense, but I can’t imagine dosing the tropic Marin trace elements would have such an adverse affect.

OP
OP
gideon2086

gideon2086

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How is it doing? Are you dosing any coral foods? I have one that does this with ab+
Still alive, but not happy. Bits and pieces of the colony are losing skin, mostly near the tips. I am dosing coral food, but stopped dosing trace elements. All other inhabitants are happy.. so odd.

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0