Is My Favia Doing Well?

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For some context, just picked up a wild favia from my LFS on Sunday I would like to say. Dipped it, placed it, did all the routine stuff. Day 1 I noticed it had burrowing clams, saw the holes at the LFS and they advised that I took a pick and stirred it up, it didn't work so on the next day I filled the hole with some glue. Haven't really touched him ever since, but this is my first time keeping favias in particular. Here's a photo of him today (glued up burrowing clam hole circled in red)
Screenshot_20230823_162736_Photo Editor.jpg
20230823_162659.jpg

Is he still closed up or is he open? There is a little bit of coral mucus on him from when I added him but that's normal. What do you think?

encrustingacro

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Judging by the color of your rock, your tank looks pretty new. It is recommended to wait until coralline algae starts growing before adding corals. What are your parameters?

OP
OP
Reefkeepers Archive

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Judging by the color of your rock, your tank looks pretty new. It is recommended to wait until coralline algae starts growing before adding corals. What are your parameters?
Tanks 7 months old, not new to keeping coral though, started with dry rock so it may look like that, i try and keep alk at 8.7, calcium at 490, nitrate at 4, phosphate at 0.04, salinity at 1.026

OP
OP
Reefkeepers Archive

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Best way to tell if favia is doing well is at night. When lights are out for a few hours take a flashlight or cell phone flash light and look to see for any polyp extension. They feed mostly at night.
I'm going to be up late then

(Lights turn off at 9:00)

encrustingacro

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%