IS REFUGIUM GOOD OR BAD???

zoablasto

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, so I'm still pretty new to the hobby. I currently have a nano reef tank, and I'm about to set up an 80-gallon system. It will be including a sump, and I really wanted to do a refugium. I've been hearing a lot of stuff about them, including both positive and negative opinions. Can someone tell me if refugium will be a good choice for reducing algae growth?

Crustaceon

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think responsible feeding practices and regular maintenance will beat a refugium when it comes to preventing nuisance algae from popping up in the display. IME, a refugium will not outcompete nuisance algae that’s already on rocks or the back panel without severely starving corals in the process. You’ll still need to do maintenance to remove it, which makes it seem a little pointless to bother with a refugium in the first place.

Mr_Knightley

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I will say yes. Refugiums, if properly sized, can do wonders for an aquarium. In my large 210g setup, I have a 20-ish gallon refugium hooked to it, and it still does wonders, even with the cheap $5 lights I'm using for it lol
If you have the room for one, I would definitely add one. If you want to get some more details on how they work exactly, as well as some pros and cons, I would recommend searching the forum or youtube for "Refugium benefits".
Good luck and God bless!

muzikalmatt

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0