Klir Filter Review.

Ecotech Marine

SaltMan

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2015
Messages
140
Reaction score
51
Location
California
Ahh, yeah my sensor doesn’t fit in horizontal, it has notches in the sensor so that it only fits in vertically. I was on the fence given all the negative reviews, and right out of the box it disappoints lol.
They have pretty good service to get things right, try submitting a support ticket.
 

((FORDTECH))

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
1,402
Reaction score
870
It's really interesting the various experiences folks have had with the optical sensor. I wonder what the true variables are. I installed the sensor as designed and it's yet to fail me or work in a fashion that otherwise would be less than optional. I'm not saying that anyone is installing theirs incorrectly at all, but curious as to why there is the wide variety in performance. I don't like to use the term luck, but maybe there's a key item that influences how this works?
The first major difference is the flow thru them is different for everyone. Gph more or less and also how smooth or violent the water flows thru and this is from different sump designs. I run 5-600 gph thru mine.
 

((FORDTECH))

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
1,402
Reaction score
870
This is how it looks in my sump
image.jpg
Yes your water flow looks very calm
 

((FORDTECH))

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
1,402
Reaction score
870

Attachments

  • 5BAD41F2-C5C8-4CA8-97B3-7E282AE04D64.jpeg
    5BAD41F2-C5C8-4CA8-97B3-7E282AE04D64.jpeg
    150.1 KB · Views: 22
  • 9061721E-8215-4BDE-8293-B2D0265CEA53.jpeg
    9061721E-8215-4BDE-8293-B2D0265CEA53.jpeg
    142.3 KB · Views: 25
  • 2559E87D-2B48-42E2-889A-3165C0A7631B.jpeg
    2559E87D-2B48-42E2-889A-3165C0A7631B.jpeg
    150.8 KB · Views: 24
Avast

Rob.bucek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
1,761
Reaction score
3,750
Location
Eau Claire
The first major difference is the flow thru them is different for everyone. Gph more or less and also how smooth or violent the water flows thru and this is from different sump designs. I run 5-600 gph thru mine.
Fair enough! You have just one? I'm running a pair of them and I'm getting about 1,300 gph through them currently. I haven't tested if I can get more as I set my flow based on 50% capacity of my return pumps. I'm curious now to see what they really could take lol
 
AS

((FORDTECH))

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
1,402
Reaction score
870
Do you have the drain lines submerged below your water level? If not, perhaps that could help?

Wow we have almost identical set up’s. Is that a modular marine over flow ? I have 4 ft internal and 3 ft external custom built. I also run 2 cor 20s. What’s strange to me is how you say you running about 1300gph thru the 2 of them. That be 650gph each. What are you using to measure this? Because I have flow sensors and my Cor-20 at 22% does 500 gph. At 50% my cor flow 1200gph each and will over flow my sump. Maybe you are flowing a lot less then the 1300 you think? Yes my drain pipe is under the water level like 6 inches. Here is video of how the bubbles come out from drain pipe.
 

Attachments

  • 63298124907__1BD01E8E-20B7-4E4F-8AE2-86D254C4F16B.MOV
    7 MB · Views: 0

Rob.bucek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
1,761
Reaction score
3,750
Location
Eau Claire
Wow we have almost identical set up’s. Is that a modular marine over flow ? I have 4 ft internal and 3 ft external custom built. I also run 2 cor 20s. What’s strange to me is how you say you running about 1300gph thru the 2 of them. That be 650gph each. What are you using to measure this? Because I have flow sensors and my Cor-20 at 22% does 500 gph. At 50% my cor flow 1200gph each and will over flow my sump. Maybe you are flowing a lot less then the 1300 you think? Yes my drain pipe is under the water level like 6 inches. Here is video of how the bubbles come out from drain pipe.
I noticed that too lol. I'm running two cor-20's as well. No wonder I liked your setup lol. I don't have a flow sensor, I used a more manual calculation. I'll respond with that tomorrow as I'm running out of time tonight. My own assumptions could very well be off base, I'm definitely not perfect! I am using a modular Marine overflows yes.
 

((FORDTECH))

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 23, 2020
Messages
1,402
Reaction score
870
Do you have the drain lines submerged below your water level? If not, perhaps that could help?

One thing I have noticed by watching your YouTube video is that with your over flow you are using a bean animal set up and with mine I have all three open to drain no emergency or anything all three draining water as we speak. I did this because I don’t care about the noise cause in basement and iwaki 100 is much louder anyways. And I figured with 3 drains could flow better then a bean animal. I would not think this would cause more bubbles
 
Last edited:

Rob.bucek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
1,761
Reaction score
3,750
Location
Eau Claire
One thing I have noticed by watching your YouTube video is that with your over flow you are using a bean animal set up and with mine I have all three open to drain no emergency or anything all three draining water as we speak. I did this because I don’t care about the noise cause in basement and iwaki 100 is much louder anyways. And I figured with 3 drains could flow better then a bean animal. I would not think this would cause more bubbles
What size is your tank? There are so many solutions that work across the board, that's what I love about this hobby. I always learn more by just talking and sharing experiences with people!

I definitely could open mine even more, but choose to throttle it back to optimally (for me) run at less than capacity. I did this with three thought that if I lost a pump, at 50% I could crank the remaining one at 100 and still achieve the same flow with no adjustments needed until I replaced the lost pump and still gave me plenty of turn over in theory. This actually worked in testing when I was setting it up.

Here's a link to my build thread where I show how I estimated my flow. I'm no fluid dynamics engineer so I'm open to rethinking this if your experience tells you I'm way off base in my logic.

Post in thread 'Rob's Really Rad 180 Reef Rally' https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/robs-really-rad-180-reef-rally.722791/post-7979685
 
Last edited:
Maxout

powers2001

started reefing 1999
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
4,443
Reaction score
2,320
Location
MONTANA^^^Big Sky Country
I have a Klir I have never used. I don’t want to read through 24 pages. Maybe someone could help me. Was Coralvue shipping Klirs with faulty parts? Are they still replacing those parts? How good is their customer service at in dealing with these issues?
 

bluerider098

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 18, 2020
Messages
65
Reaction score
33
Location
Coldwater
I have a Klir I have never used. I don’t want to read through 24 pages. Maybe someone could help me. Was Coralvue shipping Klirs with faulty parts? Are they still replacing those parts? How good is their customer service at in dealing with these issues?
You mainly want to make sure that you have the 11rpm motor. If not than contact customer support. It clearly says on the motor.
 

Rob.bucek

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2020
Messages
1,761
Reaction score
3,750
Location
Eau Claire
I have a Klir I have never used. I don’t want to read through 24 pages. Maybe someone could help me. Was Coralvue shipping Klirs with faulty parts? Are they still replacing those parts? How good is their customer service at in dealing with these issues?
I'm pretty certain they resolved all these issues. At most of you get an old unit from some vendor you'd have to contact coralvue to get upgraded parts. From what I hear they provide these free. Just do what I did and order it straight from coralvue and you'll get the most recent versions.
 

powers2001

started reefing 1999
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
4,443
Reaction score
2,320
Location
MONTANA^^^Big Sky Country
You mainly want to make sure that you have the 11rpm motor. If not than contact customer support. It clearly says on the motor.
@bluerider098 thanks for the heads up I’ll check to see which motor I have.
 

powers2001

started reefing 1999
View Badges
Joined
May 2, 2013
Messages
4,443
Reaction score
2,320
Location
MONTANA^^^Big Sky Country
I'm pretty certain they resolved all these issues. At most of you get an old unit from some vendor you'd have to contact coralvue to get upgraded parts. From what I hear they provide these free. Just do what I did and order it straight from coralvue and you'll get the most recent versions.
@Rob.bucek thanks I’ll contact Coralvue.
 
CORAL MANIA After Sale

WHEN WAS YOUR MOST RECENT ADDITION TO YOUR TANK?

  • Today!

    Votes: 29 13.2%
  • Yesterday...

    Votes: 23 10.5%
  • Last week!

    Votes: 70 32.0%
  • Last month.

    Votes: 39 17.8%
  • More than a month ago.

    Votes: 41 18.7%
  • Probably a year or more ago.

    Votes: 9 4.1%
  • I don't remember...

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • My tank is brand new and I still haven't added anything to it yet!

    Votes: 8 3.7%

Online statistics

Members online
2,577
Guests online
6,895
Total visitors
9,472
Tidal Gardens
Top