Lessons learned so far from a Rookie Reefer....Hopefully this will help some others.

ReefRDude

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been doing the Reefer thing for several months now and I have a JBJ Nano Cube HQI 28gallon. Here are a few things I have learned so far and maybe some you can benefit from it.

IMHO......
#1 Don't buy Live Rock. Use Dry rock to avoid HITCHHIKERS!!!!!!
#2 Avoid All in One systems because they are Very hard to upgrade
#3 Starfish (especially Linkia) are best left in the Ocean.
#4 If you can afford LED...Get it!!!! the MH's WILL cause heat issues plus are more expensive to run.
#5 Automatic Water Top off is A MUST!!!!
#6 certain Corals, especially Stonys need to wait until you have more experience.
#7 Make sure you have all necessary equipment...quality skimmer, heater, power heads etc.......Before spending money on expensive LiveStock that you are probably putting into jeopardy in a newly established tank!!!
#8 Vortech's are well worth the money!!!
#9 Spotted Mandarins have tons of personality but make sure they are eating frozen shrimp.
#10 DON"T RUSH IT!!!!!! See #6 and #7

So far this is what I have learned and I'm learning more everyday If anybody has anything else...please add on

TinaFoster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Quarantine EVERYTHING for the recommended amount of time to avoid parasites infecting your system.

TinaFoster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh, and if you do get ich the only surefire way to get rid of it is let the tank go fishless at least 6 weeks. And add all the sand you want when starting up, don't add it later on unless you don't mind a huge diatom outbreak.
Those are the 3 lessons this newb has learned so far.

fsu1dolfan

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0