Long tentacle anemone, HEEELLLPPPP!!!!

NemesisAqua

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I've had this long tentacle anemone in my tank since the first week I started it about 6 months, about a two weeks ago he moved under the rocks and was down there for about a week. when he remerged, he was half the size he was. he then got pushed in the current in my tank and ended up landing right up against a Hammer coral, so I moved him myself back to the rockwork. he then attached to a rock and retracted his tentacles, then I noticed him on the move last night (I installed a fx150 gyre pump yesterday evening) and now he looks like this, is he hurt, is he sick? is he okay? or am I just worrying too much? I'm still a noob Haha.

Before:
20210925_093207.jpg

After:
20211215_083836.jpg

Thanks!
Nemesis

SlugSnorter

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
you sure it didn't just divide?

heres a quote that describes it pretty well:
"When an anemone is about to split, it's usually pretty obvious. It will elongate, stretching across one or more rocks. It will pull both directions, basically ripping itself in half. ... Anemones will need a few days to heal, sealing themselves and rebuilding the mouth area that is used to swallow food once more."

this is either good or bad, check params and have you been making sure nem is healthy otherwise?

If good - Nem had lots of energy and was strong enough to clone

if bad - Nem doing badly and split to try and find better conditions for the clone

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning. Early pics look good.

A complete list of your current water parameters may be helpful.

Have you put an anenome guard on the fx150 to protect the nem and the tank?

OP
OP
N

NemesisAqua

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good morning. Early pics look good.