LPS dominant tank- How to keep nutrients up?

Ferrell

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to reefing but have kept fish for many years.
75/30g Tank started in Oct 2017
Parameters all 8, .ca 420 Mag 1500 (little higb), salinity 34
2 Clowns 2 reef chromis 1 blenny 1 goby
Roughly 30 various lps: hammer frogspawn lepta lepto cypha psamm favia duncan acan micromussa paly
All frag
Dose talk in ato
Dose 1 ml kz lps aminos
4 t5s: 2 B+ 1 C+ 1 actinic
Roughly 8 hrs total light/10 hrs blue (dawn/dusk)
Apex controls all

Problem: How do you keep nitrates above zero?
I removed filter socks yesterday .Good/bad???
I have an oversized skimmer for a 120 . Overskimming??? I turned it down to dry skim
Feed fish 2 times a day. Underfeeding???? Mix of pellets and or frozen
Add 30 ml live plankton evenings for pods and coral .Too much?

Any suggestions are much appreciated

landlubber

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
likely just a matter of feeding a little more but if that isn't how you want to go about it you can also dose NO3 directly to keep the system from bottoming out.

DanielCervantes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started dosing sodium nitrate to my tank and it saved all my sps. Turns out my tank sucks up more nitrates than the 14 fish and feeding produces.
I’m keeping nitrates around 2 and I’ve noticed everything is A LOT happier and coloring back up again

John3

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You have a few options outside of dosing it. You could change out your filter sock less often. If you currently rinse out the frozen food before feeding don’t. Don’t clean your sandbed as often. Skim less. Feed more. All should add some nitrates, you would just need to find the right combo. I would start with filter sock in longer because that’s what I currently do.