Matt's AIO Clear Mini 6 build

souciemm

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is my second saltwater tank and first build on reef2reef (also posting on another forum). I’ve been doing freshwater for 30 years or so (as long as I can remember), and started a 20 gallon nano about a year and a half ago.

I used a Waterbox Clear Mini 6 to build a custom AIO using 1/8" acrylic. The 3 chambers house media, heater, return pump, and ato. I originally planned to have this tank at work but they decided it wasn't allowed so It's going on my bedside table (It may be moving to living room). I started cycling with dry rock (I didnt end up using much of the dry rock), sand, and ceramic discs in a 5 gallon bucket in July '23. I occasionally dosed microbacter 7 and added some fish/coral food here and there.

Display: Waterbox Clear Mini 6 with custom diy AIO
Rock: US Live Rock 5# (Plus some dry rock I had been cycling to support)
Sand: CaribSea OceanDirect (left over from last build and no longer ocean direct)
Salt: Reef Crystals
Lighting: Noopsyche K7 Mini
Return Pump: 165 gph cheap amazon pump with 1/4" VCA random flow generator
Heating: 50w amazon heater with led display.
Wavemaker: None, but I may add a hygger mini when I need more flow
Filtration: Small bag of ceramic discs, filter floss, carbon/gfo as needed. Mostly relying on planned 50% water changes.
Top Off: Amazon ATO
Aquarium Lid: Some glass left over from another tank that's not in use right now. I might rig up something that fits a little nicer in the future.
Dosing: None for now but I will use All for Reef if it becomes necessary

Current clean up crew:
2 tiny hermit crabs,
1 nassarius snail,
1 trochus snail,
1 cerith snail
Multiple hitch hikin feather dusters
Jay's Reef Bugs
1 Money Cowrie
Dwarf Ceriths
1 Florida Cerith
1 Nerite
ZigZag periwinkles (they're cheap and small so why not?)

Coral:
LPS: Cyphastrea
Anemone: 5 Rock Flower Anemones