Maxspect Gyre XF350: advice needed

Broutilde

Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
25
Reaction score
16
Location
Canada
Anyone with Maxspect gyres XF350 here? I would need some help to figure out how to create more flow at the bottom of my tank. I have two brand new XF 350 on the same controller. They're working great I have them on pulse but the flow is not reaching the bottom of the tank underneath the gyre (tank is 400 gallons, height 28", gyres placed 2" below water line on the two ends of the tank) and some of my corals near the sandbed receive almost nothing.
I was thinking about doing a reverse flow like I did with my old gyre but can't seem to figure it out with that model

On the website they state that the "Alternating Mode an industry first which allows the Gyre to reverse the direction of its flow. This is especially useful in creating alternating current inside the aquarium. By swapping out one of the included reverse flow impeller on the gyre, an alternating gyre flow can be created with a single pump. The strength of the forward and reverse flow, as well as the flow duration can be easily set to achieve the desired effect. " Welp I don't see any included reverse flow impeller in my box.
Can anyone advise about what I could do to get a better flow and maybe alternating or complementing the two pumps?
Thank you
E.
 

bdare

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2015
Messages
445
Reaction score
190
Location
Rockwall, TX
I have 2 XF350s on either side of a 72" tank. I think the key is making sure you have them on long enough for the gyre to create that flow along the bottom. If my pulses are too short the bottom does get a little stagnant.
 

symon_say

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
168
Reaction score
188
Location
Dominican Republic
Why not try what BRS recommend in BRS160, instead of setting the on pulse set then to go from 20-100% inverse in each pump, that should create a lot of movement everywhere.
 

wcharon

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
279
Reaction score
102
Location
PR
I am using on mine one pump in pulse and the other one is on random at level 80 and i like it a lot.

@symon_say... can you please share the link of that video of BRS with the program? I don't seem to find it.

Thanks...
 

James404

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 13, 2012
Messages
418
Reaction score
535
Location
New York
I don’t believe they come with a separate impeller, you just disassemble it and reverse the impeller inside. You can also try moving the pump down some from the water line.
 

wcharon

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 24, 2010
Messages
279
Reaction score
102
Location
PR
Sorry... I found it...

Thought the programming was directly with the Maxpect Controller but it is connected to the APEX. I have the APEX but really wanted to have it separate from the APEX.
 

How often do you clean your filter socks?

  • Every few days

    Votes: 161 27.2%
  • Every weekend

    Votes: 98 16.6%
  • Every other week

    Votes: 48 8.1%
  • Every month

    Votes: 24 4.1%
  • When they look dirty

    Votes: 49 8.3%
  • I don't ever clean them

    Votes: 8 1.4%
  • I don't use filter socks

    Votes: 182 30.7%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 22 3.7%

Online statistics

Members online
859
Guests online
3,325
Total visitors
4,184
All-natural and sustainable live rock alternative
Top